The Avett Brothers Live


The Avett Brothers have just announced a new live album, Live, Vol. 4, to be released on December 18th. The album features the band’s performance last New Year’s Eve in Raliegh, NC.

The Avett Brothers consistently perform the best live show I’ve witnessed. You can’t help but get caught up in the energy and emotion filling the room. Most recently, the band played in my backyard in South Bend to an audience as varied in age as they were in style. But that’s the thing about TAB. They bring people together with their music and their love.

The live show is a required experience for any fan. As amazing as their albums are, the true magic of the Avett Brothers is in the live show.  Here’s a taste with a live version of Colorshow:


This is what makes a new live album so exciting: a chance to relive the memories of the performances without waiting for the next tour. I’m especially excited for the live recording of Laundry Room, a track amazing enough in it’s recorded version but chill-inducing in a live setting. Also included are two unreleased tracks, Satan Pulls The Strings and Rejects In The Attic. Here’s the entire tracklist:

1. Satan Pulls the Strings
2. Laundry Room
3. Another is Waiting
4. Shame
5. Kick Drum Heart
6. Rejects in the Attic
7. Ten Thousand Words
8. Talk On Indolence
9. Auld Lang Syne
10. The Boys are Back in Town
11. I and Love and You
12. Slight Figure of Speech
13. Happy Trails

The album has a CD/DVD combo or a special edition vinyl option. Those are available for preorder now from the band and from Amazon. You can check out the past live albums and the rest of recordings from the Avett Brothers on iTunes and Amazon.